Australia Council Visual Arts Award 2010, awarded at the the National Gallery of Australia, Canberra

by Terry Smith

The following is taken from the Australia Council for the Arts.

Contemporary art theorist Terry Smith and distinguished art director Elizabeth Ann Macgregor are being honoured for their innovative and meaningful contribution to Australian visual arts and culture, receiving the Australia Council Visual Arts Award and Medal respectively.

Parliamentary Secretary for the Prime Minister, Senator Kate Lundy presented the awards at a ceremony on 20th May at the National Gallery, Canberra.

Formerly titled the Australia Council Emeritus Award, the Australia Council Visual Arts Award and Medal is an annual recognition of outstanding contributors to Australian visual arts.

Professor Terry Smith will receive $40,000 for his role as a respected critic, theorist and historian of Australian art within Australia and overseas, contributing to contemporary art theory and further advancing the reputation of the Australian artistic sector.